Sixth Lecture Workshop (Online) on “Trans-disciplinary Areas of Research and Teaching
by Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Awardee”

Special Public Webinar
January 19, 2022 @ 06:00 pm – 07:00 pm
Alzheimer’s Disease: Diagnostics to Therapeutics
Prof T Govindaraju
Bio-organic Chemistry Laboratory, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru

T. Govindaraju is a full professor at New Chemistry Unit and Chair, Education Technology Unit, JNCASR, Bengaluru, India. His research interests are at the interface of chemistry, biology and biomaterials science, include Alzheimer’s disease, peptide chemistry, molecular probes, diagnostic therapy, molecular architectonics, and silk-inspired biomimetics and biomaterials. He has published more than 120 papers in peer reviewed journals, 37 patents, 18 book chapters and four books. He has co-founded a startup company (VNIR Biotechnologies Pvt. Ltd. to translate many of the inventions from his laboratory. He is the recipient of several awards and honors, Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship (2006) of AvH Foundation, Germany, profiled as “India’s Young Blood” by Chemical and Engineering News (C&EN), ACS, USA, Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award (2010) of DBT, Govt. of India, INSA Medal for Young Scientist (2011), Prof. D. K. Banerjee Memorial Lecture Award of IISc (2012), Prof. CNR Rao Oration Award of JNCASR (2014), Sir C V Raman Young Scientist Award by Govt. of Karnataka (2014), CRSI Bronze Medal (2016), MRSI medal (2017), IPS-Young Scientist Award (2017), SwarnaJyanti Fellowship (2015-16), DST, Govt. of India, CDRI Award 2019 for Excellence in Drug Research, Special Lecture Award of Pharmaceutical Society of Japan at Kyoto University, Health & Wellbeing Winner, Commonwealth Chemistry, National Prize for Research in Peptides and Nucleic Acids (2020), and Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (2021) in chemical science. Founding member of Indian National Young Academy of Science (INYAS), Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC), Royal Society of Chemistry (London), Invited in the “Leader in the filed” category. He is currently serving as the secretary of Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) and Indian Peptide Society (IPS).